Walter F. Ehrnfelt, Jr. Award for Outstanding Regional Contribution


NOACA launched the Walter F. Ehrnfelt, Jr. Award for Regional Contribution in 2004 to recognize an individual who has contributed significantly toward the betterment of the region by exhibiting outstanding leadership skill and accomplishment. The award is named for Walter F. Ehrnfelt, Jr., the late mayor of Strongsville and a former NOACA Board member, who exemplified leadership, dedication and regional cooperation throughout his career.

If you have any questions, please call us at 216-241-2414, or email us at

Ehrnfelt Award Recipients:

2017 Julius Ciaccia, retired CEO of the Northeast Ohio Regional Sewer District
2016 George V. Voinovich, late U.S. Senator, and Steve LaTourette, late U.S. Congressman

2015 Valarie J. McCall, Chief of Government and International Affairs, City of Cleveland
2014 Mary E. Samide, Geauga County Commissioner
2013 James R. Gills, Lake County Engineer
2012 Howard R. Maier, Executive Director, NOACA
2011 Daniel P. Troy, Lake County Commissioner
2010 Chris Ronayne, President, University Circle, Inc.
2009 Jerry Hruby, Mayor, City of Brecksville
2008 Stephen D. Hambley, Medina County Commissioner
2007 Erwin Odeal, Executive Director, Northeast Ohio Regional Sewer District
2006 Robert C. Klaiber, Jr., P.E., P.S., Cuyahoga County Engineer/Sanitary Engineer
2005 Neil Hofstetter, former Geauga County Commissioner
2004 Betty Blair, Lorain County Commissioner

Last updated: 1/5/2018 9:54:38 AM